Bodies get mummified by themselves in the crypts of a picturesque Baroque complex of the Reformed-Franciscan monastery and the adjoining church of St. Casimir’s in Krakow’s central Old Town historical district. The scenic complex was built at the Reformacka Street between 1662 and 1673, and from 1667 till 1841 some 300 friars and 730 laymen of every status found their last home here. The former were laid to rest without coffin on the bare floor, their legs covered with sand and a block of wood under their heads.
Most visitors seem surprised how little the features of some mummies changed over centuries. Probably a peculiar microclimate of the crypts explains that strange phenomenon. The other Krakow place with the same properties are four-storied crypts of the 17th-century Cameldolite Bielany monastery atop Srebrna Gora.
[Via krakow-info.com website]